EHRA switches up leadership

The Electronic Health Record Association (EHRA) will have new leadership after the group’s annual elections in early June.

Two executive committee members were re-elected to two-year terms, two new members were added, and a new chair and vice chair were elected. These individuals fulfill EHRA’s objective to maintain balanced representation from companies that serve healthcare enterprises with both ambulatory and acute care EHRs, and companies that focus solely on the ambulatory EHR market.

Mark Segal, PhD, vice president of government and industry affairs for GE Healthcare IT, vice chair emeritus of the association, and current chair of the Public Policy Leadership Workgroup, was elected to a one-year term as chair of the association. “I believe we are making a real difference by bringing the collective voices of our companies and our customers to the policy process and to the many related initiatives that are currently driving the health IT industry,” he said in a release.

Sarah Corley, MD, chief medical officer at NextGen Healthcare will serve as vice chair after having served on the EHRA’s executive committee, and as chair of the association’s Patient Safety Workgroup. She is a former commissioner on the Certification Commission for Health IT and a practicing physician.

Meg Marshall, director of government health policy at Cerner and vice chair of the Public Policy Leadership Workgroup; and Ginny Meadows, RN, vice president of regulatory strategy for McKesson, and chair of the Quality Measurement Workgroup were both re-elected to the executive committee for two-year terms.

Joseph Geretz, chief software architect at SRSsoft and Sasha TerMaat, program director at Epic were elected to two-year terms. Geretz also serves as vice chair of the Certification Workgroup and TerMaat leads the Meaningful Use Workgroup. Hatem (Tim) Abou-Sayed, MD, medical director of EMA Plastic Surgery at Modernizing Medicine will complete the second year of his two-year term during the coming year.

Michele (Mickey) McGlynn, senior director of strategy and operations for Siemens Healthcare, Health Services, who served two terms as association chair, will move into an ex officio role. Leigh Burchell, vice president of policy and government affairs for Allscripts, having served two terms as vice chair, will complete her fourth year on the executive committee.